User roles

In this guide, we'll take you through the different roles that you can give your team members as you bring them on board V7. Once you've determined which roles you want to provide each member of your team, add them to V7 using these instructions.

V7 offers 5 different user roles, each with their own permissions: Team Owner, Admin, User, Workforce Manager, and Worker.

Let's take a look at what each role can do. Scroll down to the bottom of this guide for an in-depth table with each role, and the permissions it provides:

Team owner

The user that first created the team. The only user who can delete the team, and the main point of contact for V7. The team owner can assign this role to another user at any point.

Admin

Admins can delete any dataset, add and remove users, and modify team settings. They have all the permissions of the team owner, but cannot delete the team or change its owner.

User

Users can access all of a team's datasets and add new datasets, but not delete them. They can invite other users, and adjust the permissions of any team member in a User, Workforce Manager, or Worker role.

Workforce manager

A role usually reserved for the manager of a labelling workforce like V7's labelling team, Workforce Managers' permissions do not extend beyond the datasets they are added to. They can invite workers, view datasets they're part of, and assign & review tasks. They cannot see other users without access to the datasets that they belong to. They cannot export data - but they can generate export versions for Users and Admins to use.

Worker

Workers (or annotators) are your labelling workforce. They can request tasks, annotate images and videos, and make comments. They cannot assign images to other users, or view other users on the team. They cannot see or browse entire datasets - only images currently assigned to them.

Permissions

Team Owner

Admin

User

Workforce Manager

Worker

Delete team

Yes

No

No

No

No

Change team owner

Yes

No

No

No

No

Edit billing settings

Yes

Yes

No

No

No

Edit team avatar

Yes

Yes

No

No

No

Delete datasets

Yes

Yes

No

No

No

Edit/delete user roles

Yes

Yes

No

No

No

Invite admins

Yes

Yes

No

No

No

Create datasets

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

No

Invite users

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

No

Download exports

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

No

Generate API Keys

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

No

Generate exports

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes*

No

Invite workers

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes*

No

Train & Run Neural Networks

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes*

No

Edit dataset instructions

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes*

No

Edit workflow

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes*

No

Add data to dataset

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes*

No

Delete images/videos

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes*

No

Assign images/videos

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes*

No

Create classes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes*

Yes**

Review images/videos

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes*

Yes**

Make comments

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Annotate Images/videos

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

*Only for datasets to which they are assigned.

**Only if allowed